Yale’s Moon Named NGCA All-American

29 Nov 2021 | 10:35 | Golf

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – Following her magical freshman season for the Ivy League Champion Yale women’s golf team, Seo Hee Moon collected a variety of honors, including both Ivy League Rookie and Player of the Year. The rising sophomore added to her collection when the National Golf Coaches Association named her to its Honorable Mention Division I All-America squad. Moon was one of just three players on any of the NGCA’s teams not from a traditional Division I Power conference, and the only player named from a school in the Northeast.

The honor puts what was a phenomenal debut campaign into a national perspective. That Moon’s season was special by Ivy League standards was clear from the get-go, but the NGCA’s choice to add her to its All-American squad recognizes the Washington state native as not only in the upper echelon of the Ivy League or of freshmen in the nation, but establishes hers as one of the best seasons overall in women’s college golf this year.

That season was, quite simply, spectacular. Moon finished in the top five in nine of ten tournaments she played in 2010-2011, taking home six individual titles and finishing in the top ten in every single regular-season outing. She was the Bulldogs’ top finisher at the NCAA East Regional, placing 20th overall at that event.

“It’s great that she was recognized as one of the best college golfers in the nation. She truly deserved it,” Yale coach Chawwadee Rompothong ’00 said. “Moon had a spectacular year, and I am looking forward to what she can accomplish this upcoming school year.”

NGCA Division I All-America Teams

1st Team

Carlota Ciganda – Arizona State University

Lindy Duncan – Duke University

Austin Ernst – Louisiana State University

Stephanie Kono – UCLA

Stephanie Meadow – University of Alabama

Megan McChrystal – Louisiana State University

Brooke Pancake – University of Alabama

Sophia Popov – USC

Erica Popson – University of Tennessee

Lizette Salas – USC

Marta Silva Zamora – University of Georgia

Emily Tubert – University of Arkansas

2nd Team

Brittany Altomare – University of Virginia

Amy Anderson – North Dakota State University

Isabelle Boineau – University of Arizona

Cydney Clanton – Auburn University

Laura Gonzalez – Purdue University

Numa Gulyanamitta – Purdue University

Therese Koelbaek – UNLV

Joanne Lee – University of California, Berkeley

Lee Lopez – UCLA

Tiffany Lua – UCLA

Lisa McCloskey – USC

Honorable Mention

Pia Halbig – University of California, Berkeley

Sara-Maude Juneau – University of Louisville

Camilla Lennarth – University of Alabama

Kayla Mortellaro – University of Idaho

Seo Hee Moon – Yale University

Catherine O’Donnell – University of North Carolina

Calle Nielson – University of Virginia

Caroline Powers – Michigan State University

Katerina Ruzickova – Texas A&M University

Kelli Shean – University of Arkansas

Natalie Sheary – Wake Forest University

Michelle Shin – Wake Forest University

Cheyenne Woods – Wake Forest University

Glory Yang – UCLA